Monday, May 27

ICC Men’s Cricketer Of The Year 2023: Virat Kohli, Pat Cummins Nominated For Top Honours

Written by Samrat Chakraborty

Former India captain Virat Kohli and Australia captain Pat Cummins were on Friday nominated for the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC Men’s Cricketer Of The Year 2023. World Cup 2023 Final man of the match Travis Head and premier India all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja are also among the nominations for the top honours.

Kohli had a fine run in 2023 as he amassed 2048 runs in 35 matches and clinched the Man of the Series award at the World Cup 2023. He was instrumental in guiding Team India to a win in the second Test of the Border Gavaskar Series. He broke the duck in the series by scoring a majestic 186 — his first Test century since 2019 — at the Narendra Modi Stadium. Moreover, the Indian chase master propelled over his idol Sachin Tendulkar in ODIs, by registering his 50th ton.

Cummins, the  Australia World Cup-winning captain, registered 422 runs and scalped 59 wickets in 24 matches in 2023. His calendar year began with a win over India in the World Test Championship final followed by the Ashes defence in England. He was not only crucial with the ball but upped the ante with the ball when required.

Head, the World Cup 2023 Final man of the match for his brilliant century, accumulated 1689 runs in 31 matches. He had an impressive strike rate of 127.51 in the quadrennial showpiece event and enjoyed success in other formats as well. The opener was the top scorer in the first innings of WTC final with 163 runs.

Jadeja, meanwhile, scalped 66 wickets and scored 613 runs in 35 matches in 2023. The left-arm spinner was instrumental in guiding Team India to Border-Gavaskar Trophy win with 22 wickets. The all-rounder displayed fine performance with the ball in the World Cup 2023, scalping 16 wickets, including his career best performance of 5/33 against South Africa at the Eden Gardens.